Conflict//resolute, Verity Campbell

conflict//resolute

 

I have never been

That is –

I have always been

A woman

 

Dressed in girly clothes

Short hair

Flowers on every dress

Knees scraped

 

And I am aware

A girl

I more than she

Seemingly appears

 

I am aware that

A girl

Can have dresses and

Scabby knees

 

But, when I was

Young, impossible,

Fearlessly playing with boys

I felt

 

I wasn’t just girl

Just girl

Is title bestowed on

the pretty

 

I could never be

Pretty, sweet

Princess of the story

Happily trapped

 

When I was young

And boy

Dared call me princess

I raged

 

He would rescue me

From my

Tower guarded by dragon

I roared

 

I didn’t need boy

Or man

Or anything else to

Rescue me

 

When I got older

Childhood ended

With a river of

Bloody cries

 

It heralded the end

I thought

That’s it, woman is

the end

 

The end of fun

Because they

Gagged at stains I

Couldn’t control

 

But I was wrong,

Just because

I grew up quicker

Than them

 

Does not make me

Any less

Able to be young

Like them

 

Running unashamedly free I

Let them

See me for what

I am

 

I know now that

I am

Fiercer than the wild

When taunted

 

I am mightier than

God himself

When faced with their

Hateful words

 

I am wiser than

Wise men

Who claimed me dirty

And cursed

 

I have never been

That is –

I have always been

A woman

 

Because to me a

Woman is

Anything I make it

To be

 

Verity Campbell

Leave a comment